Some people may say diamonds are a girl's best friend, (and I'm not here to argue the fact that pretty, glittery baubles aren't nice ... and desirable ... and ... errr, I digress) but pretty little gems can't take the place of a loyal, fluffy friend. 

Merritt is a seal bicolour Ragdoll cat whom I adopted in May 2004, and he has been an irreplaceable member of my family ever since. Merritt has been with me through many moves and job changes. He has tolerated the introduction of two babies to the family, and he has endured a lot of rough play from those babies when they became toddlers. He has even accepted other cats into his territory with just a little hissing and growling. He's been with me through the good times and bad, through the laughter and tears. Merritt has been my loyal buddy for nearly 10 years, and he is worth more than a million diamonds to me. 

So ... here's to Merritt ... and to all the pets we love and cherish !!

PS: I also have another kitty that I will feature one day soon on my blog ... stay tuned :-)

PPS: May I mention something else that is near-and-dear to my heart? There are many cats and dogs (and other animals) out there who are homeless and are temporarily living in a pet shelter. Some have been abandoned, some have gotten lost and were never claimed by their owners, and some have been abused. These animals desperately need homes. If you're looking for a new pet I urge you to visit a pet shelter ... give a shelter animal a fighting chance. Additionally, many local SPCA's and shelters are overwhelmed with pets, and they need help from their surrounding communities in order to keep their shelters running.  If you aren't looking for a new pet, but you love animals and you're feeling generous, please contact your local shelter to find out what they need and how you can help. Make a donation if you can. Or volunteer! Visit the BC SPCA for more information.

Thanks for reading. Carla xo



Lori
12/30/2013 09:40:04 am

When you were starting to say something else near & dear to your heart I thought you were going to say me...hehe just joking! I totally agree with you about the animals. How many of those that are bred get sent to shelters too because they don't get adopted from the breeders & the breeders have enough with their two or three dogs? I'm sure it happens. I like the pic of you & Merritt but you're looking tired my dear sister. I hope you get some sleep tonight.

Reply
Carla
12/31/2013 07:06:47 am

Lol - you are hilarious :-) There are too many homeless animals ... and don't get me started on pets that are not spayed/neutered!!!

Reply
Teri
12/31/2013 11:35:25 pm


Reply



Leave a Reply.