My boys and I like to get outside as much as possible ... scratch that ... we need to get outside as much as possible. Having 2 young boys is like having puppies. They need to run off their energy or they go absolutely crazy. Although outdoor physical activity is necessary for my kids' happiness and overall well-being (and my own sanity!), we actually do love being outdoors, playing and enjoying nature all year round. 

We are so fortunate to live in a place with a temperate climate. On December 24th, it was 10 degrees celsius (that's 50 fahrenheit) here on the West Coast of BC. Yeah, we get a lot of rain, but we rarely get a lot of snow or extreme temperatures. It's perfect for those of us who like to play outside all year!

Since it wasn't raining (yay!), we took advantage of the warm winter weather, grabbed the boys' hoodies & new Razor Scooters (thank you Auntie Sue & Uncle Steve!), and headed to a nearby athletic park. The boys scooted around for a sufficient amount of time (ie: they were actually slightly tired out - yay again!), then headed to the playground where they made a couple of new friends & continued to play games all afternoon.

Despite leaving home without my camera, I got a few semi-decent shots with my cell phone. I love that my kids go into pose-mode as soon as they see a camera. Ben especially loves to pose, and I'm pretty sure his alter ego is some sort of ninja-spy, hence the crazy poses that I sometimes get from him.

Oh, and the last pic ... as I was walking along with the boys, I saw these trees standing along the path, and they were perfectly lined up, in their own little section, unlike all the other trees just hanging out in random groups or on their own. For some reason this appealed to my OCD senses ... hashtag ilikewhenthingsareperfectlylinedup. 

Lori
12/28/2013 08:59:24 am

Nice pictures and nicely written. Does this mean everyone is feeling better?

Reply
Carla
12/28/2013 09:22:51 am

Thanks. No, actually we're all sick now. These photos were taken on Christmas Eve ... just got around to posting them today.

Reply
Silly Auntie
12/28/2013 11:22:36 am

These photos are excellent, Carla. I was going to ask you what kind of camera you captured them with ... your cellphone?? Wow. Nice job!

Reply
Carla
12/28/2013 12:32:22 pm

Thanks! They're a bit fuzzy, but I thought they turned out okay :-) Eventually I want to get a decent camera to capture clearer images!

Reply
12/29/2013 11:53:45 pm

I love your blog, im just starting up mine please check it out.
http://itsmysash.wordpress.com/

Reply
Carla
12/30/2013 03:40:52 am

Thank you! I checked out your blog - very nice! Carla

Reply
12/30/2013 12:31:57 am

Yippee!! I am so glad the boys liked the scooters! Merry Christmas :)

Reply
Carla
12/30/2013 03:41:35 am

Merry Christmas to you too ...and Happy New Year :-)

Reply



Leave a Reply.