My absolute favourite Christmas cookies are Noel Cookies. My mom used to make them every year, and it's the one treat that I always look forward to. UNFORTUNATELY, my mom hasn't been making them as much as she used to (guilt trip, mom!), so I went online to find a comparable recipe. After trying a recipe that didn't quite replicate my mom's, I found this one on Food.com and I tried it out this afternoon. The cookies turned out perfectly! Here is the recipe, in case you want to give it a try ...

Noel Cookies (Servings: 30)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, soft
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg, slightly beaten
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
3/4 cup unsweetened coconut
3/4 cup maraschino cherry, chopped

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350*.
2. Cream butter and sugar. Mix in the egg and extract.
3. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and salt. Stir into the creamed mixture.
4. Stir in the chocolate chips, coconut and cherries.
5. Drop by teaspoons on a parchment lined cookie sheet.
6. Bake for 15 minutes or until edges are slightly golden in colour. Cool slightly before removing to a wire cooling rack.

Find the recipe on Food.com
Silly Auntie
12/23/2013 01:06:19 pm

These cookies look yummmmy! I don't remember your mommy ever making these for me ... guess that's because we are rarely together at Christmas time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Reply
Carla
12/23/2013 03:13:10 pm

They are soooo good! I'll make you some next time you're in town!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.